UPMC Radiologists named in Pittsburgh Magazine’s Best Doctors of 2018

Congratulations to the radiologists: Wendie Berg, Vinod Nanik Chablani, Charles R. Fitz, Carl Fuhrman, Emanuel Kanal, Joan M. Lacomis, James M. Mountz, Paula M. Novelli, William E. Rothfus, Mitchell E. Tublin, Giulio Zuccoli as “Pittsburgh Magazine’s Best Doctors” of 2018.

Lung Density Analysis for Quantification of Emphysema on Chest CT Scans

Low dose CT scans obtained for lung cancer screening are now including a quantification of emphysema using software developed by the Imbio company (based in Minneapolis, MN).

Lung density analysis for emphysema is now FDA approved and has the technology has been validated by multiple studies. The process is fully automatic (data sent from scanner to Imbio software) with results included with CT images within minutes.

Dense Breast Tomosynthesis Ultrasound Screening Trial (DBTUST)

Dense breast tissue, which is common, and normal (seen in about 40% of women screened), can mask detection of breast cancer on mammography. Ultrasound is known to improve invasive cancer detection after standard mammography in women with dense breasts. Tomosynthesis (3D mammography) improves cancer detection compared to standard mammography. It is not known whether ultrasound would still be of benefit or not after tomosynthesis in women with dense breasts. Opened in December 2015, the purpose of this study is to determine the added cancer detection yield (if any) when screening ultrasound is added to 3D mammography in women with dense breasts. Women will undergo three annual rounds of screening. The cost of the screening ultrasound is covered by the study, funded by the National Cancer Institute and the Pennsylvania Breast Cancer Coalition.

RSNA 2017: University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine Department of Radiology

UPMC RSNA Book 2017
UPMC radiology was again a major force at RSNA this year. Faculty and trainees presented 17 scientific papers/posters, compiled 4 educational exhibits, moderated 4 scientific sessions and gave 6 refresher courses. Drs. Zuley and Tublin were appointed to the RSNA Refresher Course Committee as track chairs in breast and ultrasound and Dr. Rath assumed the chairmanship of the RSNA Education Exhibits Award Committee. The midweek alumni reception was spectacular and it was great to hear of the many accomplishments of alumni throughout the US.

F-18 fluciclovine (AxuminTM) PET/CT for prostate cancer biochemical recurrence - available at UPMC Shadyside since September 2017

UPMC Shadyside is the first site in Pittsburgh and southwestern Pennsylvania to offer a new F-18 Positron-Emission-Tomography/Computed-Tomography (PET/CT) scan for prostate cancer patients with biochemical recurrence. The novel PET agent F-18 fluciclovine (AxuminTM) was FDA approved in May 2016 and is useful for detecting low prostate-specific antigen (PSA) soft tissue and bone recurrence. This clinical service is the result of close collaboration between the Departments of Radiology and Radiation Oncology. Patients with F-18 PET/CT positive studies may be eligible for targeted radiotherapy: imaging data acquired can be directly retrieved and incorporated for radiation treatment planning.

UPMC Award for Commitment and Excellence in Service (ACES) for 2017

Congratulations to Dr. Andrew Cordle for receiving the 2017 UPMC Award for Commitment and Excellence in Service (ACES)! The ACES Award honors staff who exemplify UPMC’s five core values – Quality & Safety, Dignity & Respect, Caring & Listening, Responsibility & Integrity, Excellence & Innovation – which are the foundation of all we do. Each year, fewer than one percent of UPMC staff from across the health system receive this honor.

2017 Herbert M. Stauffer Award for Best Education Paper

Dr. Vikas Agarwal and his co-authors from several institutions across North America were awarded the 2017 Herbert M. Stauffer Award for Best Education Paper. This award is presented to the most outstanding manuscript published in Academic Radiology in the year 2016.

The reference to the article is listed below:

Flipping Radiology Education Right Side Up
Erin E. O'Connor, MD, Jessica Fried, BA, Nancy McNulty, MD, Pallav Shah, MD, Jeffery P. Hogg, MC, FACR, Petra Lewis, MBBS, FACR, Thomas Zeffiro, MD, PhD, Vikas Agarwal, MD, Sravanthi Reddy, MD
Academic Radiology, Vol. 23, Issue 7, p810–822

Richard L. Baron Memorial Leadership Award and Divisional Teaching Awards 2017

Each year, the UPMC Department of Radiology recognizes outstanding residents, fellows, and faculty for their commitment to teaching and the department’s educational mission. This year, the first annual Richard L. Baron Memorial Leadership Award was presented to Dr. Jules Sumkin by Dr. Mitch Tublin. This award was created after the passing of Dr. Richard L. Baron who was a prominent leader in radiology and former Chair of the UPMC Department of Radiology. The following is a list of additional award recipients for the 2016-2017 academic year:

Divisional Teaching Awards 2017
Musculoskeletal Radiology Carol Andrews
Neuroradiology Marion Hughes
Nuclear Medicine Judi Joyce
Women's Imaging Rita Zuley
Abdominal Radiology Amir Borhani
Cardiothoracic Radiology Glenn Andrews


Subscribe to Department of Radiology RSS